Birth of Venus-Sandro Botticelli

Birth of Venus by sandro Botticelli

I choose to analyze Sandro Botticelli’s Birth of Venus. This painting was commissioned by the Medici family in 1490 in Florence, Italy. Personally I found this piece appealing because it seems to symbolize a connection between the gods int he sky and with man upon the earth. Additionally, with Valentine’s Day coming up rapidly it seemed appropriate to discuss a painting focused on the goddess of love.

Sandro Botticelli’s Birth of Venus is a rather interesting piece of art. While Botticelli is lesser known than the other master artists of the Renaissance this piece is instantly recognizable by anyone. Despite this recognition a viewer will be unable to truly appreciate Birth of Venus unless they have some knowledge of the myth that inspired the painting. The couple aloft to Venus’s left is actually the wind god and his wife, assisting Venus to the safety of the shore where she is to be received and welcomed by the summer goddess. The presence of these other deities as well as Venus’s delicate features help to emphasize her serene divinity and invoke emotion in any viewer.

A subtle aspect of this painting that can be easily overlooked in this painting is the presence of orange’s in the background. These oranges are surprisingly significant, as they imply that the painting was funded by the Medici family, one of the largest contributors to art in the Renaissance world. The fact that the Medici family sponsored Sandro Botticelli in this work does a great deal to demonstrate it’s value.

It is easy to imagine hidden meanings in Birth of Venus, particularly when considering the Medici family influenced it’s creation. Perhaps it is intended to be representative of the Medici’s self reflection, that they were so far above the common people that it was by the grace of the gods that those who walk the earth may even stand int heir presence. Obviously this is blind conjuncture, but considering the Medici influence it is a possibility. The fact that oranges appeared in almost all works commissioned by the Medici’s implies that there was at least some influence on the artist.

5 Responses to “Birth of Venus-Sandro Botticelli”

  1. Jessica Sullivan Says:

    I liked how you related your painting choice because of Valentine’s Day, that made sense to me, and quite a good choice. I am actually not familiar with this painting. Your description of the painting and the myth behind it made me more aware of the painting and I really appreciate that. I did however, not see any oranges? I wonder where are these located? Also, how do the oranges represent the Medici family? You explained the connection to the influence of the Medici Family very well, as well as the meaning behind the painting. I did however realize that you did not mention really why you like the painting and what you find interesting? I do believe this painting is quite intriguing and a good choice to write about. Like I said above the only thing you really missed was your outlook on it and why you like it!

  2. Clark T Says:

    I too noticed that you didn’t seem to mention what you found interesting about this painting. I did however like your description and telling of the mythology behind the painting. It really helps one understand and better appreciate what it is. I didn’t happen to notice any oranges, and I wonder what makes them connected to the Medicis?

  3. jwallick Says:

    I thought you chose a very interesting painting, espeically in relation to Valentine’s Day and Venus the Goddess of Love. I did not know that oranges were associated with the Medici family. Some influences are more obvious in subtle ways than others and that was a really interesting fact to learn. It is a very elegant and detailed painting. One thing I’m curious about is that the woman on the right is the only one fully clothed. And it’s not just merely scraps of clothing, but a full-fledged heavy dress. Is she supposed to represent something opposite of the wind god and hsi wife on the left of Venus? I would have liked to learn a little more about the actual myth that inspired the painting, but overall I thought you had a good blog that included acurate and interesting facts . I enjoyed it!

  4. Lisa Kljaich Says:

    Testing for blog moderation

  5. AJ Says:

    Sorry for the delay, after several spam comments about Swiss watches of all things i started ignoring new comments. Anyways, i personally really like how this painting seems to bridge the gap between the supernatural and the earth. I feel as if the woman wearing full clothing represents refined society and human culture. This connection might even symbolize the divinity of love, but i may be using my imagination too much.

Leave a comment